Ladysmith Maritime Society 34th Annual General Meeting December 5, 2019 LMS Welcome Centre

President Dan Lutz called the meeting to order at 7:00 pm. With recognition that the meeting was being held on the traditional territory of the Stz'uminus first Nation.

It was determined that a quorum was present with 34 members-in-good-standing signed in. The meeting was properly constituted.

Moved: by Rod McNeil to approve the Agenda. Carried

Moved: by Betty Pearson to dispense with the reading of the 33rd AGM. Carried

Moved: by Alan Newell to approve the Minutes of the 2018 AGM. Carried

Treasurer, Alan Newell, gave an account of the financial position of the 2018-2019 fiscal year and presented the 2019-2020 budget. Alex Palmer of Palmer Leslie Chartered Professional Accountants presented the independent review of the financial statements for the year ending September 30, 2019.

Moved: by Alan Newell/ Rod MacNeil to approve the Treasurer's Report and the Independent Financial Review. **Carried**

Moved: by Alan Newell/Rod MacNeil to appoint Palmer Leslie Professional accountants to conduct an Independent Review of the Ladysmith Maritime Society for the 2019-2020fiscal year. **Carried**

Executive Director, Richard Wiefelspuett, reported on the improvement project for C and CC docks. Completion is anticipated by April 2020. Due to the shallow water behind the boathouses it was not possible to widen the fairway between B and C docks. Maintenance projects include installation of additional pilings, winterizing of breakwater tanks, upgrade to pump-out system, floatation for the museum and other LMS boathouses, and car shop lighting upgrade. Repair/restoration to the Machine shop by the Town of Ladysmith will likely mean that the Harbour Hertiage Centre will not open and LMS offices will be relocated for this year.

President, Dan Lutz, distributed a draft LMS Strategic Plan and asked for feedback from members. The plan looks at the future directions for LMS. The 5 areas of Focus: Relationships with Partners, Maintaining and Enhancing our Volunteer Support, Operating, Repairing and Replacement of Infrastructure, Commitment to our Maritime Heritage and Public Access, Parking and Security provide a framework for moving ahead.

The meeting was turned over to Peter MacHardy, Chair of the Nominating Committee. Mr. MacHardy announced that 4 Directors are confirmed by acclamation for 3 year terms; Dan Lutz, Alan Newell, Art Rendell and Jeff Reichert. Directors, Ron Dale, Bob Hogberg and Marnie Craig have 2 years remaining on their terms and Peter MacHardy has 1 year. As our board is intended to have 9 members, the following motion was presented.

Moved: by Peter MacHardy that the 4 nominees be approved by acclamation and that the Board be directed to appoint for the 9th Board position. **Carried**

It was announced that as per the bylaws, the officers will be decided by the Directors from amongst themselves at the first meeting of the board after the AGM (December 9, 2019).

The meeting was turned back to President Lutz.

No old business was brought forward to the meeting.

There was a call for any new business which members wished to bring forward. There were none.

President Lutz thanked staff, volunteers, members and the board for all their service during the past year.

Moved: by Rod MacNeil ? to adjourn. Carried