Ladysmith Maritime Society 33rd ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING held in the LMS Welcome Centre on December 5, 2018

President Dan Lutz called the meeting to order at 1900, with recognition that the meeting was being held on the traditional territory of the Stz'uminus First Nation.

It was confirmed that a quorum was present with 36 members-in-good-standing signed in. The meeting was properly constituted.

Moved: Rod MacNeil/Peter MacHardy to approve the agenda. Carried.

Moved: Bob Hogberg/Patricia Huggins to dispense with the reading of the Minutes of the 32nd AGM. Carried.

Moved: John Laing/Jim Phillips to approve the Minutes of the 32nd AGM. Carried.

Moved: Marnie Craig/Art Rendell to dispense with the reading of the Minutes of the Extraordinary Meeting of October 11, 2018. Carried.

Moved: Alan Newell/Marnie Craig to approve the Minutes of the Extraordinary Meeting of October 11, 2018. Carried.

Treasurer, Alan Newell, gave an account of the financial position of the 2017-2018 fiscal year and presented the 2018-2019 budget.

Mr. Newell reported that the finance committee has discussed the possibility of changing the fiscal year end from September 30 to March 31. At this time, no change is contemplated.

Tammy Leslie, CPA, of Palmer Leslie Chartered Professional Accountants presented the independent review of the financial statements for the year ended September 30, 2018. Ms. Leslie thanked the LMS Operations Manager, Debbie Loewen, for her assistance and ease of obtaining all necessary information to present the statements. She concurred with the decision to leave the fiscal year end at September 30.

Moved: Peter MacHardy to approve the Treasurer's Report and the independent financial review. Carried.

Moved: Bob Hogberg to appoint Palmer Leslie Chartered Professional Accountants to conduct an Independent Review of Ladysmith Maritime Society finances for the 2018-2019 fiscal year. Carried.

President Lutz provided an overall report on the activities of the Society for the fiscal year (report attached). Rod MacNeil commented on his years as a director and volunteer in the "Car Shop" (boat restoration shop) and thanked all who had contributed to his enjoyment of the time.

Moved: Dan Lutz/Peter MacHardy to approve the President's Report. Carried.

Executive Director Richard Wiefelspuett, having been involved for just one month, spoke of the challenges he sees in the areas of dock improvements, safety and security, operations, and municipal engagement.

The meeting was turned over to Peter MacHardy, Chair of the Nominating Committee.

Mr. MacHardy announced that three Directors are confirmed by acclamation for 3year terms: Marnie Craig, Ron Dale and Bob Hogberg. Each spoke briefly of their background and interest in LMS.

Other Directors are: Peter MacHardy - 2 years; and Dan Lutz, Alan Newell and Art Rendell each for 1 year.

It was announced that as per the bylaws, the officers will be decided by the Directors from amongst themselves at the first meeting of the Board after the AGM (Dec. 6 - 0900 - LMS Welcome Centre)

The meeting was turned back to President Lutz who thanked retiring Directors Rod McNeil and Janet Skinner for their service to LMS.

There was no old business to be brought to the meeting.

There was a call for any new business which members wished to bring forward. There were none.

President Lutz announced that the Mount Brenton Power & Sail Squadron Christmas Lights Cruise, co-hosted by the Ladysmith Yacht Club, will be held Saturday, Dec. 8, 2018.

Thanks were expressed to:

Marc Pettigrew, Deb Gawiuk, and Debbie Loewen for setup of the AGM. Anne Newell for signing in and confirming members. Deb Gawiuk for taking 2019 memberships. Marc & Pam Pettigrew for handling the bar. Betty Pearson for taking the minutes of this meeting.

Moved: Rod MacNeil/Anne Newell to adjourn at 2022h. Carried.