# **Ladysmith Maritime Society 30th AGM**

December 3, 2015 - LMS Welcome Centre at 1900 (7:00 pm)

**1830:** Arrival and sign-in

Coffee and dessert

58 members plus guests received ballots and reports

**1900:** Meeting called to order by President Betty Pearson. Betty welcomed everyone and requested that all present sign the attendance sheet. The President confirmed that the meeting was properly constituted: meeting notices were sent by e-mail and Canada Post. Betty added that there was a glitch with the Society's internet provider and that two dozen members did not receive notification. As soon as the error was noted, second notices were sent. It was confirmed that there was a quorum as more than twenty members were in attendance.

Betty Pearson called for a motion to dispense with the reading of the Minutes from the 2014 AGM.

**Moved:** Peter Fowler

Seconded: Rod MacNeil

Carried

Betty Pearson called for a motion to approve the Minutes of the 2014 AGM.

Moved: Ken Ireland

**Seconded:** Barrie McDonald

Carried

## **President's Report** – Betty Pearson (attached)

Betty thanked all the Board Members and singled out David Grimstead for stepping in as Treasurer for 2014 - 2015.

## **Treasurer's Report** – David Grimstead (attached)

Dave Grimstead also introduced Gail Schuler who is now working for the Society as the Bookkeeper.

#### **Financial Statements** – Tammy Leslie and Tavish Annis – (attached)

An introduction was given by Tammy Leslie. Tavish Annis presented the 2014-2015 Financial Statements.

Betty Pearson called for a motion to approve the Treasurer's Report and Financial Statements.

Moved: David Grimstead Seconded: John Pearson Carried

David Grimstead called for a motion to appoint Palmer, Leslie Chartered Accountants to conduct a Review Engagement of the finances for the 2015-2016 fiscal year.

Moved: Gerry Beltgens Seconded: Jack Bennett Carried

#### **Committee Reports**

Museum: Shirley Blackstaff (attached) Heritage Vessels: Rod MacNeil (attached) Festivals: Gerry Beltgens (attached)

Harbour Tours: David Grimstead (attached)

Betty Pearson called for a motion to approve the committee reports including the President's Report.

Moved: Ken Ireland Seconded: Doug Bell Carried

The meeting was turned over to Vice-President Allan Gould for his input regarding the rationale for a Resolution to amend the constitution by adding the following to section 2 (a): "(iii) providing education, educational programs and educational materials to the public". Allan also stated that the Society required a 75% in favor vote on the ballot to amend the constitution.

As Chairman of the Nominating Committee, Allan instructed the members how to cast their ballots and specifically what constitutes a spoiled ballot. Nine members put their names forward for five positions. The top three candidates will serve three year terms and the next two will serve two year terms.

Allan Gould then asked each of the candidates to address the meeting prior to voting. The candidates were as follows:

Gerry Beltgens, Ewan Cameron, Cliff Fisher, David Grimstead, Bob Hogberg (John Beames spoke on his behalf), Dan Lutz, Rod MacNeil, Paul Nowlan and Michael Waage (David Grimstead spoke on his behalf)

Alan Newell was appointed to gather and count both the Resolution and new Director's ballots.

**2006:** Betty Pearson asked if everyone had voted and the vote counters left to count the votes and the remaining members had an opportunity to socialize and purchase their 2016 membership.

**2108:** The meeting was called back to order.

Allan Gould announced that the resolution to amend the constitution was carried with 94.5% of the members voting in favor of the amendment.

Allan Gould thanked all candidates for putting their names forward and announced the board for 2015 – 2016.

Elected for a three year term:

**David Grimstead** 

Gerry Beltgens

Rod MacNeil

Elected for a two year term:

Paul Nowlan

Cliff Fisher

To remain on the board for one or two year terms:

Shirley Blackstaff (1)

Bob Cross (1)

Allan Gould (2)

Betty Pearson (1)

Allan Gould called for a motion to destroy all ballots.

Moved: Rod MacNeil Seconded: Cliff Fisher Carried

As per the By-Laws, the officers will be decided by the Directors at the first meeting of the Board after the AGM which will be held on December 8, 2015 at 0900 at LMS.

The meeting was then turned back to President Betty Pearson.

Betty Pearson called for a motion that the signing officers of the Society be any two of the following: President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer, Managing Director or the Marina Lead with the proviso that each cheque be signed by at least one officer and that no cheque be signed by the payee.

Moved: Barrie McDonald Seconded: John Beames Carried

Betty Pearson announced that there was no old business and called for any new business or comments from the membership.

Ken Ireland commented whether the Coast Guard should be responsible for removing the Viki Lyne II from the Ladysmith Harbour.

Traci Pritchard was thanked for putting up the Santa and lights at the entrance to LMS.

#### Announcements

The next members' meeting of LMS will likely be the third week of February.

Mt. Brenton Power & Sail Squadron's Christmas Lights Cruise will be held Sat., Dec. 12, 2015.

Betty Pearson thanked the following for their help at the AGM:

Debbie Loewen and Marc Pettigrew for setting up and taking down the equipment

Cecelia Grimstead for being the greeter at the door

Anne Newell and Dianna Fisher for manning the sign-in desk

Debbie Loewen and Gail Schuler for selling memberships

Allan Newell for managing the voting process with help from Diana Gould, Colleen Moore and Susan Erickson

Mark and Pam Pettigrew at the bar

Colleen Moore for taking the Minutes

Betty Pearson then asked all Directors to meet for a few minutes following the meeting.

Betty Pearson called for a motion to adjourn the meeting.

Moved: Cecelia Grimstead Carried

The meeting was adjourned at 2130.