## Ladysmith Maritime Society Minutes of the 28<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting December 4, 2013 LMS Welcome Centre, Ladysmith

President Barrie McDonald called the meeting to order at 1900 hours. 61 members in good standing were in attendance.

Secretary Sonny Hockey confirmed that the meeting had been properly constituted and that a quorum was present.

The agenda was adopted with no changes.

It was agreed to dispense with the reading of December 5, 2012 minutes. The minutes of December 5, 2012 were approved as distributed.

<u>President's Report:</u> President Barrie McDonald delivered a report to the membership. He also introduced Rod Smith as the new Business Manager to the membership. McDonald's report is attached.

<u>Treasurer's Report:</u> Treasurer Betty Pearson delivered her report to the membership. Pearson's report is attached.

## Committee Reports:

The following Committees' chairpersons, Heritage Vessels - Tim Richards, Museum - Shirley Blackstaff, Maritime Festival - Cliff Fisher, Marina - Tom Irwin (due to Jim Phillips absence) and Harbour Tours - David Grimstead delivered their reports, which are attached.

<u>Financial Statements:</u> Pearson introduced Tammy Leslie from Palmer Leslie Chartered Accountants who reviewed the financial statements. The Financial Statements for 2012-2013 are attached to these minutes.

Motion: Betty Pearson that the financial Statements be approved. **Carried.** 

<u>Motion:</u> Betty Pearson that Palmer Leslie Chartered Accountants be appointed to conduct a Review Engagement of the finances of Ladysmith Maritime Society for 2013-2014 fiscal year. **Carried.** 

<u>Motion:</u> Betty Pearson that the signing officers for 2013-2014 be any two of President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer, Business Manager and Marina Manager with the proviso that each cheque be signed by at least one executive officer and that no cheque be signed by the payee. **Carried**.

Election Of Officers: Michelle Frazer thanked the 7 nominees.

Frazer also thanked Anne Newell for her work on the membership list.

Frazer explained the voting and questions to the nominees' process and that only members in good standing could vote.

Frazer introduced the nominees and each nominee gave a short speech followed by answering 5 questions presented to them from the membership.

The following nominees were elected as Directors: Shirley Blackstaff, Bob Cross, Rod MacNeil, and Betty Pearson. Because they received an equal number of votes, Betty Pearson and Rod MacNeil will decide between themselves who will serve a 2 or 3-year term.

The new Board of Directors for 2013 – 2014 is: Shirley Blackstaff, Bob Cross, Cliff Fisher, Sonny Hockey, Rod MacNeil, Betty Pearson, Carlos Pereira, Jim Phillips and Tim Richards.

<u>Motion:</u> Michelle Frazer that the election results be posted on the website and the ballots destroyed. **Carried.** 

## **New Business:**

There was no new Business.

Announcements: President McDonald announced:

December 14 – Christmas light cruise hosted by Mt. Brenton Power and Sail Squadron

LMS invited to Ladysmith's "Heritage Afloat" week – February 17 - 23, 2014. An invitation to LMS's "Christmas Family and Friends Event" in the Harbour Heritage Centre organized by Shirley Blackstaff on December 8, between 1:00pm and 4:00pm.

Meeting adjourned at 2200 hours.