## Ladysmith Maritime Society 31st AGM

## December 7, 2016 LMS Welcome Centre at 1900 (7:00 pm)

**1830:** Arrival and sign-in Coffee and dessert

56 members and guests in attendance

**1900:** Meeting called to order by President Betty Pearson. Betty welcomed everyone and requested that all present sign the attendance sheet. The President confirmed that the meeting was properly constituted: meeting notices were sent by e-mail and Canada Post. It was confirmed that a quorum was present as more than twenty members were in attendance.

Betty Pearson called for a motion to dispense with the reading of the Minutes from the 30th AGM of December 3, 2015.

Moved: Rod MacNeil Carried

Betty Pearson called for a motion to approve the Minutes of the 30th AGM.

Moved: Barrie McDonald Carried

Treasurer's Report – David Grimstead (Attached)

Dave gave a huge thank you to Betty Pearson and Directors for all their assistance and volunteer hours. David introduced Tammy Leslie of Palmer Leslie Chartered Professional Accountants and Noelle Bellami of RBC Investments

Financial Statements – Tammy Leslie presented the 2015-2016 Financial Statements.

Investments Report - Noelle Bellami reported on LMS RBC investments

Betty Pearson called for a motion to approve the Treasurer's Report, Financial Statements, and Investment Report.

Moved: Tim Richards Seconded: Rod MacNeil Carried

David Grimstead called for a motion to appoint Palmer Leslie Chartered Professional Accountants to conduct a Review Engagement of the finances of Ladysmith Maritime Society for the 2016-2017 fiscal year.

Moved: Doug Bell Seconded: Jim Phillips Carried

## Committee Reports

Museum: Shirley Blackstaff (Attached) Heritage Vessels: Rod MacNeil (Attached) Harbour Tours: David Grimstead (Attached)

Heritage Boats Festival: Betty Pearson (Attached) Kids' Pirates Day Festival: Gerry Beltgens (Attached)

Waterfront Plan: Paul Nowlan (Attached)
Constitution: Allan Gould (Attached)
Executive Director: Rod Smith (Attached)
President: Betty Pearson (Attached)

Betty Pearson called for a motion to approve the committee reports including the President's Report.

Moved: Ken Ireland Carried

The meeting was turned over to Vice-President Allan Gould, chair of the Nominating Committee, who stated that four members have put their names forward for three 3-year terms on the board of directors. Allan then asked each candidate to address the meeting prior to voting. The candidates were: Dan Lutz, Alan Newell, Betty Pearson and Art Rendell.

Dianna Fisher was appointed to gather the ballots.

Betty Pearson asked if everyone had voted and then vote counters, Dianna Fisher, Susan Erickson, and Jim Montgomery left the room to count the votes. The remaining members had an opportunity to socialize and purchase their 2017 memberships.

The meeting was called back to order.

Allan Gould thanked the candidates for putting their names forward and announced the successful candidates for the 2016-2017 board.

Elected for a three year term:

Dan Lutz, Alan Newell and Art Rendell

To remain on the board for a two year term:

Gerry Beltgens, David Grimstead, and Rod MacNeil

To remain on the board for a one year term:

Cliff Fisher, Allan Gould and Paul Nowlan

Allan Gould called for a motion to destroy all ballots.

Moved: Barrie McDonald Carried

As per the By-Laws, the officers will be decided by the Directors at the first meeting of the Board after the AGM which will be held on December 12, 2016 at 0900 in the LMS Welcome Centre.

The meeting was then turned back to President Betty Pearson.

Betty Pearson congratulated the successful candidates.

Betty Pearson called for a motion that the signing officers of the Society be any two of the following: President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer, Executive Director or Operation Manager, with the proviso that each cheque be signed by at least one officer and that no cheque be signed by the payee.

Moved: Gerry Beltgens Carried

Betty Pearson thanked the two retiring directors, Shirley Blackstaff and Bob Cross, for the service on the board of directors as well as their continuing volunteer service to LMS.

Betty Pearson announced that there was no old business and called for any new business or comments from the membership. There was no new business.

Announcements

The next members' meeting of LMS will likely be late January or early February

Mt. Brenton Power & Sail Squadron's Christmas Lights Cruise will be held Saturday, December 10, 2016.

Betty Pearson thanked the following for their help at the AGM:

Deb Gawiuk and Marc Pettigrew for set up and take down of meeting space Rob and Trishia Pinkerton for being greeters at the door Anne Newell and Debbie Loewen for handing out the ballots Dianna Fisher, Susan Erickson, and Jim Montgomery for collecting and counting

ballots
Marc & Pam Pettigrew for looking after the bar.

Betty Pearson asked all Directors to meet for a few minutes following the meeting.

Barrie McDonald extended a sincere vote of thanks to Betty Pearson who has served on the Board in various positions for more than 20 years.

Betty Pearson called for a motion to adjourn the meeting.

**Moved:** Barrie McDonald **Carried** 

The meeting was adjourned at 2100.